August 19th, 2021|
To legally drive in Wisconsin, you must carry valid insurance that covers not only any injuries and property damage, but also any injuries or property damage another driver causes you if they’re uninsured. It doesn’t seem fair to have to pick up the slack of uninsured drivers, but without it, countless Wisconsin motorists would be out of luck after crashes involving drivers who don’t have minimum—or any—auto insurance coverage.
Around 13% of all Wisconsin drivers are uninsured at any given time. That means you have greater than a 1 in 10 chance of having no easy recourse to pay for your medical bills and lost wages after a crash—even if it wasn’t your fault! But by adhering to Wisconsin’s uninsured motorist coverage requirement, you’ll have access to a minimum of $25,000 per person in your vehicle and $50,000 per accident.
But carrying the minimum amount of coverage doesn’t always go very far in auto accident claims. You may quickly burn through that amount in your initial medical bills alone, and then you’ll still be on the hook for additional medical treatments and lost wages. Upping your coverage to at least twice the minimum typically doesn’t increase your monthly premiums by much, but it can create a much bigger safety net if you’re hurt in a crash with an uninsured driver.
Unfortunately, getting compensation from your insurer can be just as difficult as getting it from the other driver’s insurer, but that’s where we come in. At Brian Hodgkiss Injury Law, our Appleton auto accident attorneys work hard to ensure insurance companies live up to their ends of the bargain. Contact us today for a free consultation after a crash that wasn’t your fault.
May 20th, 2021|
When it comes to getting damages after a crash, states in the U.S. are mostly divided into two camps: those that allow drivers who are partially at fault to pursue compensation, and those that forbid it. Thankfully, Wisconsin is among the states that allows partially at-fault drivers to get money for their medical bills and lost wages.
Wisconsin uses the modified comparative negligence rule. In legal teams, it means that drivers who are less than 51% at fault for crashes can file compensation claims and even lawsuits to recover damages. However, their percentage of fault is subtracted from their claims or settlements. That means that a driver who is 25% at fault for a crash will have 25% of their check “docked” before they receive the money.
The modified comparative negligence rule is important to know and understand, as many drivers believe they’re ineligible to get compensation if they violated a traffic law or partially contributed to a crash. But it wouldn’t be fair for a driver who is ruled to be only slightly at fault for a crash to be denied the chance at getting any compensation, especially since fault is often subjective.
If you were recently hurt in a crash and were ruled to be partially at fault, the Appleton car accident lawyers at Brian Hodgkiss Injury Lawyers want to help you get compensation. Contact us today for a free consultation. We’ll work hard to ensure that you’re paid the money you’re owed for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.